Annual Awards

2017 Annual Awards Luncheon




June 11, 2017 | Presidio Golf & Concordia Club, San Francisco 

Dedicated to Our Members, Volunteers & Supporters


Keynote Speaker

Senator Leno - photo.JPG

Mark Leno, D-San Francisco, 11th Senate District, was elected to the California Senate in 2008. During his tenure in the Legislature, Senator Leno has fought for better schools and access to higher education, foster youth, a cleaner and sustainable environment, affordable health care, improved transportation and renewable energy, safer streets and equal rights for all Californians...MORE

2017 Award Recipients









Amy Rassen is a recognized leader in non-profit management with extensive experience developing and overseeing highly complex non-profit organizations.  For the past 40 years, Amy has pursued her vision of social justice...MORE






Lynn Burrows Bunim currently serves as Director – Special Projects for Women Impacting Public Policy (WIPP).  Following a forty-year career in government and community relations at “the phone company”, commencing with Pacific Telephone and concluding with AT&T, Lynn brought her coalition building and public policy experience to WIPP...MORE






Linda Kurtz is a member of NCJW SF Section since 1982 and recipient of the 2012 Hannah G. Solomon Award. Representing NCJW she specialized in issues of family safety working with Shalom Bayit and JFCS Task Force on Domestic Violence, and California Family Action... MORE







Dena Gardi is a SF native and lives in San Francisco with her husband, John, three children and a big, happy dog.   She is a graduate of SF State University and holds an elementary teaching credential.  She taught briefly, then, entered the corporate world... MORE






2016 Annual Awards Luncheon


May 15, 2016 | Presidio Golf & Concordia Club, San Francisco

Dedicated to Our Members, Volunteers & Supporters






Keynote Speaker

Aaron Peskin, a member of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors, representing District 3.




2016 Award Recipients

  Sylvia Yee  - Hannah G. Solomon Award

Sylvia Yee - Hannah G. Solomon Award

Sylvia Yee is Vice President of programs at the Evelyn and Walter Haas, Jr. Fund, which works to advance rights and create opportunities so that all people can live with dignity… MORE


  JaMel Perkins  - Outstanding Advocate for Human Dignity & Freedom Award

JaMel Perkins - Outstanding Advocate for Human Dignity & Freedom Award



JaMel Perkins has been a community volunteer and activist for the past 40 years. Her arias of interest are education, women and children's empowerment and human rights. For the past 25 years since moving to California, she has been directly involved with the issue of domestic violence with the past four years focusing on human trafficking…MORE

  Robin Brasso  - Outstanding Volunteer Achievement Award

Robin Brasso - Outstanding Volunteer Achievement Award







Robin Brasso. An experienced educator and advocate for equality in education, Robin dedicated 37 years of teaching at three inner city middle schools. In addition to her impressive career in education, she is being recognized for her extraordinary community service…MORE

2015 Awards Luncheon, Board Installation & Annual Meeting

May 31, 2015 | Presidio Golf Club

Thank you to everyone who attended our 2015 Awards Luncheon last Sunday! We honored our award recipients for their outstanding achievements and celebrated our 115 years of compassionate and courageous community service! 

The Presidio Golf Club was packed with over 100 guests, among them were leaders of our partnering community-based organizations, city agency representatives, community advocates, and local legislators. Congressman Michael Honda and Supervisor Jane Kim sent congratulatory letters on the occasion of our celebration. Senator Mark Leno honored our award recipients with special certificates of recognition. 

Rabbi Doug Kahn's highly inspirational and uplifting Keynote address was momentous! You can see it attached HERE.

To top off our event we presented our guests with  a copy of the brilliant NCJW-SF 115-year history book authored by Victoria Cooper.

We congratulate our officers and directors on their installation and look forward to a very successful term of our newly elected Board.

Thank you to all of our fantastic sponsors and everyone in attendance!

2014 Luncheon Awards and Annual Meeting

Sunday, June 15, 2014 | Presidio Golf Club

Local legislators, city and consular officials, community activists, and NCJW friends attended our annual membership meeting to honor the NCJWSF 2014 Award Recipients:

  • Senator Mark Leno -  Hannah G. Solomon Award
  • Jerilyn Gelt - Outstanding Volunteer Achievement Award
  • Theresa Sparks - Outstanding Advocate for Human Rights Award

Supervisor Scott Weiner presented the awards and delivered a key speech. Congratulatory addresses were made by Rabbi Doug Kahn, JCRC’s Executive Director; Becky Buckwald, New Israel Fund’s Executive Director; Linda Janourova-Tang, Vice Consul General of the Czech Republic; Nancy Goldberg, JFCS’s Board Member and SFCAHT Co-Chair; and Randi Fields, Director of Bay Area Jewish Coalition for Literacy. Guests were entertained by live classical music. 

2013 Annual Awards Luncheon and Installation of Officers and Directors

June 30, 2013 | Presidio Golf Club

Featured Speaker: Dr. Andy David - Consul General of Israel

Award Recipients: 

  • Nancy Goldberg - Hannah G. Solomon Award for extraordinary community involvement and action
  • Emma Mayerson - Outstanding Advocate for Social Change Award
  • Emily Murase, Ph.D. - Outstanding Advocate for Women's Rights
  • Sue Warburg - Outstanding Volunteer Achievement Award

2012 Annual Awards Luncheon

June10, 2012 | Presidio Golf Club, San Francisco

Hannah G. Solomon Award presented to Linda Kurtz for extraordinary dedication and leadership

Five outstanding women awarded:

  • Congresswoman Jackie Speier for her work in reproductive rights
  • Sharmin Bock for her work in anti-trafficking
  • Naomi Tucker, Shalom Bayit, for her work in family safety
  • Kim-Shree Maufas, SF School Board for her work in girls in education
  • Ruth Morgan for her work in restorative justice

2011 Annual Awards Luncheon and Installation of Officers and Directors